June 25, 2010

  • 10 Days….

    The countdown is really on! 10 days? Are you serious?

    Today is the last day of school. It’s the last day I will see most of the students in the school for awhile. I say for awhile because I know I will be back to visit. Last night, one of my students who I’ve grown very close with called me and told me that she passed all her finals and classes which means she is now officially a junior. We reminisced about last year around this time. She and her mom came in to discuss her repeating the 10th grade. She was very adamant about transferring and not wanting to come back to do 10th grade again. After the meeting, I pulled her aside.  That unforgettable conversation was quite emotional for me which ended up with both of us crying.  In the end, she decided to come back to MATCH. She started the year a bit rocky since she still hadn’t completely bought into being back at MATCH, but during the school year, something clicked inside her and ended up passing EVERYTHING! It’s amazing, and I’m extremely proud of her for staying and really believing in herself that she could do it. We’re going out to celebrate next Wednesday.

    The other day, I received a card signed by my students, and here are some of my favorite comments:

    I’ll
    miss
    you
    the
    most.

    Wow Ms. Liu
    You’re leaving
    me to go to Colorado.
    That’s not fair, just kidding.
    I hope you have a better life
    out there living in the canyons
    and it has been
    a great 3 years working
    with you.
    I will miss you very much.
    P.S. Add me on Facebook.

    Thanks for everything Ms.
    Come back and visit with your future babies.

    I’m going to miss these kiddos!
    Last day of MATCH School…ever!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *