Month: September 2010

  • Why are you here?

    ….to STRIVE for college!

    It’s the question and answer we hear every day at my school – at the end of every morning meeting and Friday community meeting. These are middle school students and it’s fun to be in a place where 11-12 year-old kids are already thinking about college. STRIVE stands for the six community values – Scholarship, Teamwork, Respect, Intelligence, Virtue, and Effort.  We’ve had 20 days of school so far and it’s amazing to see some of the growth our students have made already.

    I knew that being an Assistant Principal was not going to be easy. In fact, in the beginning, I felt like I was just trying to keep my head above water with everything that I needed to learn and know. Now that all the initial diagnostic testing is complete (including reading fluency, comprehension, and other subjects), I’ve had more time to reflect and enjoy the job. Although I believe testing is important, it’s probably the part that is the least fun for me. Recently, I’ve been able to get into more classes to observe and provide feedback to our teachers, focus on student behavior, and spend some time working on our sports, character education, and health curricula. Of course, the best parts of my day are when I get to interact with the kids during their break, lunch, and enrichment time. At the end of the day, I’m sometimes tired, but not exhausted. On some days, I even wake up before my alarm and think about what my day will be like which gets me excited. It’s been awhile since I’ve actually felt this way. It’s nice.

    I was talking to Roger the other night regarding how there have been many moments in the past 2 years when I’ve thought about not staying in education. Roger says it’s because I naturally get bored easily with a job. Maybe that’s true. I hope I don’t get bored with this job. Ever since I wanted to be a teacher, becoming an assistant principal or a principal didn’t interest me and look at me now. I didn’t even look for this job. This job found me.