October 28, 2010

  • YaY for Fall Break!

    Who knew that a fall break was so refreshing? I’ve never had one before, but Denver gives schools two free days at the end of October! Then again, I won’t have a February and April break like Boston does, so once those months roll around, I’ll definitely be jealous with only a March break. Then again, I get out at the end of May. So it all works out.

    Work has been good. I think about the interview I had with the school back in March. Normally, I would feel nervous about an interview like this – observations, sample lesson in front of 30 students and about 7-8 administrators, debriefs and interviews with each of those administrators, etc, – but overall, I remember leaving the interview feeling really good about it.

    I really like my job. I’m not stressed out like my previous job, but it’s a different challenge. It’s the first time I’ve really had to pour over tons of data for 218 students and determine the right academic interventions as needed. It’s the first time I’ve had to develop a 7th grade character education program. It’s the first time I’ve had to observe 15 teachers and do 50 minute debriefs with each of them within three weeks for our formal observations. Then, on the non-academic side, I get to plan, organize, and do all the fun stuff. I’m in charge of all the enrichments and sports that happen at my campus such as volleyball, flag football, basketball, drama, book club, cooking, science expedition, yoga, computers, etc. These are all taught by teachers during our enrichment block, but I get to place kids and supervise. I recently organized a flag football jamboree for our four campuses.  I get to be the one to decorate our school hallways with different bulletin boards for birthdays, math problems of the week, get the reading scoop (highlighting favorite books of our teachers), battle of the books (6th vs. 7th grade – who can read the most pages), words of the week, and wall of fame (highlighting spelling bee winners and honor roll students). I am on duty for every break and lunch, but it’s fun talking to the students. I honestly like the non-academic part of my job better, but everything is good.

    I absolutely love love love my 218 students. I know this sounds cheesy, but I seriously feel lucky to have them all in my life. Even after a long day at work, they make me smile. Middle school students are so much fun. They’re still really impressionable and still get really excited when they see you really excited about something. For example, our Friday Community Meetings are successful if all the teachers and staff get into it. One of our Community Meetings two weeks ago took place in the classrooms. Our 6th graders participated in the “Speed Date My Book” and the 7th graders participated in the “Make a Movie Trailer Challenge”.  In each 6th grade advisory, the classrooms were set up so that each desk was facing another. For a few minutes each, students would talk about their books and convince their partner across from them to read it. Students rate the book and then they switch. 7th graders did the “Speed Date My Book” last year. So this year, each advisory was split up into a few groups and each group was given a bag full of props including – construction paper, wires, foil, plastic cup, string, etc. Each group had to choose a book and make a 60-second movie trailer using their props. Since the teachers got really into it and even participated, the kids were completely into it.

    Although I’m only four months into the job (feels longer than that), I wonder how long this will be sustainable though. I feel good that I like my job and that even after a 65-hour work week, I still really like it, but how long will this last? How will this work especially when Roger and I begin having a family? I guess we’ll have to see when that time comes.

Comments (2)

  • Great to hear from you – that job sounds like a perfect fit for you. Just make sure you are taking SOME time for yourself, even if it’s not a lot. 

  • The position and the school just sounds like a great match for you.  So excited to come see you in action in January!!!!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *