Month: April 2010

  • The Year of DO!

    We’re only four months into 2010, but it’s truly the Year of DO! Roger actually coined this phrase, and it basically means that this is the year we do things. I’m not talking about doing just anything, but really DO things.

    Roger started his own web comic (Cube Hobo) and ran the Boston Marathon (4 hours and 20 minutes).  I drove cross country in 5 days and signed up for a half-marathon in October. It’s part of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series. Apparently, there’s a band playing at each mile. Cool, huh?  I’m for real about this half-marathon. Roger and I are planning to go to the marathon store in Copley Square this weekend to find out which type of running shoes I should get. It’s one of those stores where they ask you to run in front of them, and they tell you which shoes to get. Roger trained to finish the Boston Marathon. I want to train to finish the 13.1 miles, but since I have about 5.5 months before the half-marathon, there’s enough time for me train for speed as well. I start my training next Monday.  I know I can already do 2 miles – no sweat, so I plan to run 3 miles after school on Monday. Plus, Roger has been researching how to train for speed. So we’re going to do that together. Then, in our near future,we’re moving to Denver! We’re planning to get a dog. I’m going to be an Assistant Principal for a charter middle school! It’s all so exciting!

    Do you see now why it’s the Year of DO?

    I’ve realized that I need a bucket list. Roger has one, and I think it’s important to have one so that I can keep these little goals in mind.  So here are a few things in no particular order, and it’s definitely not a complete list.  As you can see, a lot of the things on my list involve traveling. Some of these are pretty easy to cross off the list too, but since it’s on this list, it MUST and WILL be done!

    1. Tour Southeast Asian countries
    2. Learn more Cantonese
    3. Visit Egypt to see the pyramids and ride a camel
    4. Visit Hawaii
    5. Cruise the Baltic Sea
    6. Cruise the Mediterranean Sea
    7. Lion dance on jongs (poles) – Check out this video! It’s so cool!
    8. Skydiving
    9. Bungee Jumping
    10. Run a half-marathon
    11. Snowboarding (Can you believe that I’ve never done it before?)
    12. Start a brewery group in Denver. It’s going to be sad leaving my Sushi Love <3 group behind in Boston, but I’m excited to start a new group in Denver. What should I call it? Brew Love <3? HAH!
    13. White water rafting
    14. Dragon Boat Racing – Check this video out from last year’s Denver Dragon Boat Festival!
    15. Yoga

    Again, this isn’t a complete list. So how about you? Do you have a bucket list? What’s on your list?

  • Bad News and Good News

    We finally found someone to replace my position when I leave MATCH. She currently works for me in my department, so it’s a really good match. Although she doesn’t have as much experience as I’d like, she as the fire and the desire to take on this humongous challenge. She’s a bit scared/worried as she should be, but I hope during these next couple of months or so I can give her all the training she needs to be as prepared as she can be for the next school year.

    Since she officially took the position this week, I decided it was time to let my students know that this was my last year. I had my quarterly Books and Cookies party with my 4th and 8th periods on Wednesday and thought it was perfect timing to tell them – fill them with cookies as I tell them bad news. Anyway, here are some of my favorite lines from my students:


    When asked if they wanted bad news or good news first, they wanted bad.
    Ms. Liu: OK. Bad news first.
    S: I know! You’re pregnant!
    Ms. Liu: First of all, no, I’m not pregnant. Second of all, why would that be bad news?

    J: Ms, I’m highly upset…highly…highly…upset.
    S: It’s your husband, huh. He’s making you move. Ms. don’t move for him! I’m highly upset too at YOU and your husband!
    Ms. Liu: S, no, he’s not making me move. It was our decision, but I’ll let him know how you feel.
    S: Good and if he has a problem with it, tell him to come speak to me!

    J: Ms, you can’t do this to me! I imagined you following me around for all four years!
    When I told J the good news about who was taking my place, he says, “No! She doesn’t know your techniques!
    Ms. Liu: Techniques? J, what techniques are you talking about?
    J: Techniques for not breaking down! I’m depressed now.

    J: Ms, make sure you send me pictures of your house and your baby someday.
    Ms. Liu: Pictures of my baby? I’ll bring my baby to the school someday!
    J: Ooh! Then, I’ll take it and carry it and play with it, and won’t let go, so you can’t leave.

    T: Ms. I can see you with twin boys! Doesn’t that have to run in your family though?
    Ms. Liu: I think so. I have more girls in my family, and he has more boys, but I think it’s based on the guy’s family.
    T: Ok, then if not twin boys. Two boys!

    Ms. Liu: Don’t worry. I will definitely come back and visit. You’re my family!
    T: Good. Come back and visit every day.

    ….and my favorite line of all:
    T: Ms, you can’t leave. Can’t you find a hut in the woods and call it Colorado?

    I really didn’t know what to expect from students once I told them. However, I do know that once the school year starts in the fall, they won’t even notice that I’m gone! I will definitely miss my students, but I absolutely cannot wait for Denver.

  • Got Denver On My Mind…

    I’m sure this is not a surprise.

    This year, West Denver Prep hired four Assistant Principals for their four campuses.  One of them happens to live in Cambridge since she’s getting a Masters in School Leadership at Harvard. So we met up for coffee today near Porter Square. She’s actually from Denver and was telling me more about it. She didn’t tell me anything particularly new since I seriously have researched Denver like there was no tomorrow. However, just talking to her made me even more excited than I already am which if you really knew how excited I am, it would be hard to believe. Actually, she did tell me that Denver has the best Mexican food I will ever eat. She claims that the East Coast doesn’t know how to make excellent Mexican food and guarantees that I will fall in love with it while I’m there. She’s cool, and I’m excited about working with her this year.
     
    People have been asking us if we’re planning to live in Denver long term and if we’re looking to buy a place in Denver right now.  Roger and I do have plans to purchase a house in Denver, but for at least the first year, we’d like to rent and get a feel for the neighborhoods before we settle down on a home. I’ve been asking around and researching neighborhoods and apartment complexes in the city. I. can’t. wait. After living with my parents for the past year and a half, we seriously dream about our imaginary apartment – our own bedroom, an office, more closet space…*sigh*. After doing much research, I’ve unfortunately fallen love with Boutique Apartments.  I say “unfortunately” since at the moment, they don’t have any 2BR openings in July. However, the management told me that it could change next month since they require tenants to give them 60-day notice if they’re planning to leave. I’m specifically looking at Metropolis and Works since those are the only two that have 2BRs. Seriously, if you have time to click on those links, check out the pictures! The coolest part about these apartments is that they’re eco-friendly – recycled materials, energy-saving lighting, etc. They’re perfect location-wise too. They’re both in the Congress Park neighborhood. It’s close to I-25 which is what Roger will need to take to go to work. I won’t even have to take the highway, and it’s only 15-20 minute drive from the apartments to my school.  Plus, you can walk out to bars, restaurants, parks, museums, and shopping. I’m crossing my fingers that something will open up!

    While I’m most excited about the apartments, Roger is most excited about the dog we’re going to get! Yes, the Lius are planning to get a dog! Roger already has a name picked out. He wants to call our dog Sammy after Samuel Adams – the beverage not the patriot. We’re thinking Boston Terrier! Aren’t they so cute?

         

    So the official moving date is Monday, July 5th – our wedding anniversary. How appropriate huh? We’re going to start driving the U-haul and car trailer on that Monday, stop by Michigan to visit Roger’s family for a couple of days, stop by Omaha, and then end up in Denver by Thursday, July 8th. We’ll have the weekend to settle in a bit, and then I begin my first day of work on Monday, July 12th. Yes, it’s a crazy schedule, but when is my life not crazy?

    Anyway, I’m excited. Can you tell?