April 16, 2010

  • Bad News and Good News

    We finally found someone to replace my position when I leave MATCH. She currently works for me in my department, so it’s a really good match. Although she doesn’t have as much experience as I’d like, she as the fire and the desire to take on this humongous challenge. She’s a bit scared/worried as she should be, but I hope during these next couple of months or so I can give her all the training she needs to be as prepared as she can be for the next school year.

    Since she officially took the position this week, I decided it was time to let my students know that this was my last year. I had my quarterly Books and Cookies party with my 4th and 8th periods on Wednesday and thought it was perfect timing to tell them – fill them with cookies as I tell them bad news. Anyway, here are some of my favorite lines from my students:


    When asked if they wanted bad news or good news first, they wanted bad.
    Ms. Liu: OK. Bad news first.
    S: I know! You’re pregnant!
    Ms. Liu: First of all, no, I’m not pregnant. Second of all, why would that be bad news?

    J: Ms, I’m highly upset…highly…highly…upset.
    S: It’s your husband, huh. He’s making you move. Ms. don’t move for him! I’m highly upset too at YOU and your husband!
    Ms. Liu: S, no, he’s not making me move. It was our decision, but I’ll let him know how you feel.
    S: Good and if he has a problem with it, tell him to come speak to me!

    J: Ms, you can’t do this to me! I imagined you following me around for all four years!
    When I told J the good news about who was taking my place, he says, “No! She doesn’t know your techniques!
    Ms. Liu: Techniques? J, what techniques are you talking about?
    J: Techniques for not breaking down! I’m depressed now.

    J: Ms, make sure you send me pictures of your house and your baby someday.
    Ms. Liu: Pictures of my baby? I’ll bring my baby to the school someday!
    J: Ooh! Then, I’ll take it and carry it and play with it, and won’t let go, so you can’t leave.

    T: Ms. I can see you with twin boys! Doesn’t that have to run in your family though?
    Ms. Liu: I think so. I have more girls in my family, and he has more boys, but I think it’s based on the guy’s family.
    T: Ok, then if not twin boys. Two boys!

    Ms. Liu: Don’t worry. I will definitely come back and visit. You’re my family!
    T: Good. Come back and visit every day.

    ….and my favorite line of all:
    T: Ms, you can’t leave. Can’t you find a hut in the woods and call it Colorado?

    I really didn’t know what to expect from students once I told them. However, I do know that once the school year starts in the fall, they won’t even notice that I’m gone! I will definitely miss my students, but I absolutely cannot wait for Denver.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *