April 11, 2010

  • Got Denver On My Mind…

    I’m sure this is not a surprise.

    This year, West Denver Prep hired four Assistant Principals for their four campuses.  One of them happens to live in Cambridge since she’s getting a Masters in School Leadership at Harvard. So we met up for coffee today near Porter Square. She’s actually from Denver and was telling me more about it. She didn’t tell me anything particularly new since I seriously have researched Denver like there was no tomorrow. However, just talking to her made me even more excited than I already am which if you really knew how excited I am, it would be hard to believe. Actually, she did tell me that Denver has the best Mexican food I will ever eat. She claims that the East Coast doesn’t know how to make excellent Mexican food and guarantees that I will fall in love with it while I’m there. She’s cool, and I’m excited about working with her this year.
     
    People have been asking us if we’re planning to live in Denver long term and if we’re looking to buy a place in Denver right now.  Roger and I do have plans to purchase a house in Denver, but for at least the first year, we’d like to rent and get a feel for the neighborhoods before we settle down on a home. I’ve been asking around and researching neighborhoods and apartment complexes in the city. I. can’t. wait. After living with my parents for the past year and a half, we seriously dream about our imaginary apartment – our own bedroom, an office, more closet space…*sigh*. After doing much research, I’ve unfortunately fallen love with Boutique Apartments.  I say “unfortunately” since at the moment, they don’t have any 2BR openings in July. However, the management told me that it could change next month since they require tenants to give them 60-day notice if they’re planning to leave. I’m specifically looking at Metropolis and Works since those are the only two that have 2BRs. Seriously, if you have time to click on those links, check out the pictures! The coolest part about these apartments is that they’re eco-friendly – recycled materials, energy-saving lighting, etc. They’re perfect location-wise too. They’re both in the Congress Park neighborhood. It’s close to I-25 which is what Roger will need to take to go to work. I won’t even have to take the highway, and it’s only 15-20 minute drive from the apartments to my school.  Plus, you can walk out to bars, restaurants, parks, museums, and shopping. I’m crossing my fingers that something will open up!

    While I’m most excited about the apartments, Roger is most excited about the dog we’re going to get! Yes, the Lius are planning to get a dog! Roger already has a name picked out. He wants to call our dog Sammy after Samuel Adams – the beverage not the patriot. We’re thinking Boston Terrier! Aren’t they so cute?

         

    So the official moving date is Monday, July 5th – our wedding anniversary. How appropriate huh? We’re going to start driving the U-haul and car trailer on that Monday, stop by Michigan to visit Roger’s family for a couple of days, stop by Omaha, and then end up in Denver by Thursday, July 8th. We’ll have the weekend to settle in a bit, and then I begin my first day of work on Monday, July 12th. Yes, it’s a crazy schedule, but when is my life not crazy?

    Anyway, I’m excited. Can you tell?

Comments (6)

  • alright, the mexican food in denver may be better than what you can get on the east coast, but there is not a chance it is better than the food in NEW MEXICO.  i’m glad you are so excited about the move and your new job.  i’m excited to add another member to the Mountain Region of the BGC.

  • Congrats!  I’m so excited to hear about your adventure.

  • McKinney may be speaking truth, but the Mexican food in Denver is going to be MUCH better than in Boston. No doubt.

  • You do sound excited!  And congrats also on the future new pup!

  • I am excited for you just reading your post!!!  Your moving date is fitting! 

  • @SMcK - ok if mexican food is better in nm than in denver, that means i must take a trip down to nm to visit you! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *